Roy Daniels

Roy Daniels, an Ojibwe filmmaker from Manitoba, was one of seven young trainees who formed the historic Indian Film Crew, an all-Indigenous production unit established in 1967 at the NFB. Daniels is one of four IFC members—along with Willie Dunn, Michael Kanentakeron Mitchell and Barbara Wilson—credited with directing the 1968 release These Are My People, the first NFB production made entirely by an Indigenous crew. Shot in the Kanien'kéhaka (Mohawk) community of Akwesasne, the short documentary features local spiritual leaders Standing Arrow and Tom Porter and presents the Longhouse tradition as a model of effective governance.